

Cite as 2011 Ark. 486

## SUPREME COURT OF ARKANSAS

IN RE APPOINTMENT OF THE MEMBERS TO THE COMMITTEE ON PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT Opinion Delivered November 10, 2011

## PER CURIAM

Steven Shults, Esquire, of Little Rock (Panel A, attorney member from the Second Congressional District); Elaine Dumas of Little Rock (Panel A, at large non-attorney member); Henry Hodges, Esquire, of Little Rock (Panel B, attorney member from the Second Congressional District); L. Scott Stafford, Esquire, of Little Rock (Panel C, attorney member from the Second Congressional District); William P. Watkins, III, Esquire, of Rogers (Panel D, attorney member from the Third Congressional District); James A. Ross, Jr., Esquire, of Monticello (Panel D, attorney member from the Fourth Congressional District); and Sue Winter of Little Rock (Panel D, at large non-attorney member) all currently serve on the court's Committee on Professional Conduct. Their respective terms expire on December 31, 2011.

Each member is eligible for reappointment to another full term on the Committee and has expressed a willingness to continue to serve on this important court committee. Mr. Shults, Ms. Dumas, Mr. Hodges, Mr. Stafford, Mr. Watkins, Mr. Ross, and Ms. Winter are hereby reappointed, effective January 1, 2012, to a six-year term in their respective current

## **SLIP OPINION**

## Cite as 2011 Ark. 486

positions on the Committee, with the new term of each member to expire on December 31, 2017. The Court expresses its gratitude to these Committee members for their dedicated and faithful service to the Committee and for their willingness to continue in this service.

Joe A. Polk, Esquire, of Little Rock has completed a term as Panel D attorney member from the Second Congressional District, and has requested that he not be reappointed. The court expresses its gratitude for Mr. Polk's dedicated and faithful service to the Committee.

Searcy W. Harrell, Jr., Esquire, of Camden, Panel C attorney member from the Fourth Congressional District, has resigned from the Committee to accept appointment to serve as Circuit Judge in the Thirteenth Judicial Circuit. The court expresses its gratitude for Mr. Harrell's dedicated and faithful service to the Committee and wishes him well in his new position of service to the public and the legal profession.

The court hereby appoints Joseph Hickey, Esquire, of El Dorado as Panel C attorney member from the Fourth Congressional District, in place of Mr. Harrell, effective immediately and for the balance of Mr. Harrell's current term, which expires on December 31, 2014.

The court hereby appoints Richard C. Downing, Esquire, of Little Rock, as Panel D attorney member from the Second Congressional District, for a six-year term that shall commence on January 1, 2012, and expire on December 31, 2017.

The court expresses its appreciation to Mr. Hickey and Mr. Downing for accepting appointment to and serving on this important court committee.