IN THE SUPREME COURT OF MISSISSIPPI

No. 89-R-99037-SCT

IN RE: COMMISSION ON CHILDREN'S

*JUSTICE* 

**ORDER** 

Before this Court en banc is the matter of children's justice in the State of Mississippi.

Currently, this Court receives approximately \$409,255 annually, under the federal Court

Improvement Plan Grant, earmarked for the improvement of Mississippi's Youth Court

system. A requirement for the receipt of the Court Improvement Plan Grant funds is that an

advisory group be utilized to assist in the identification of areas needing improvement in the

children's justice arena, as well as making recommendations for improvement of those areas

and the monitoring of the implementation of the recommended reforms.

Previously, this Court, en banc, entered the Order of June 10, 2010, in cause number

89-R-99037, re-establishing the Commission on Children's Justice which is charged with

developing a statewide, comprehensive approach to improving the child welfare system;

coordinating the three branches of government in assessing the impact of government actions

on children who are abused or neglected; and recommending changes to improve children's

safety, strengthen and support families, and to restore public trust and confidence in the child

welfare system. The terms of service of the members of the re-established Commission on

Children's Justice have now expired. Having carefully considered the matter, the Court finds

that it should re-establish and reconstitute the membership of the Commission on Children's Justice.

## IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED:

- 1. The Court hereby re-establishes and reconstitutes the Commission on Children's Justice and charges it with developing a statewide comprehensive approach to improving the child welfare system; coordinating the three branches of government in assessing the impact of government actions on children who are abused or neglected; and recommending changes to improve children's safety, to strengthen and support families, and to promote public trust and confidence in the child welfare system.
  - 2. The following are appointed as members of the Commission:

Justice Randy Pierce, Associate Justice, Supreme Court of Mississippi;

Judge Virginia Carlton, Judge, Mississippi Court of Appeals;

Judge Tom Broome, County Court Judge, Rankin County;

David Calder, Director of Children's Advocacy Clinic, University of Mississippi Law School;

Shirley Kennedy, Director of Children's Advocacy Program, Mississippi College School of Law;

Dr. John Pruett, Chair, Department of Child Psychology, University of Mississippi Medical Center;

Angela Robertson, Associate Director and Research Professor, Social Science Research Center, Mississippi State University;

Dr. Lisa Nored, Chair, Department of Criminal Justice, University of Southern Mississippi;

Patti Marshall, Director of Crime Prevention and Victims Assistance (including Childrens Division), Mississippi Office of the Attorney General;

Sandra Parks, Bureau Chief, Children's Division of Mississippi Department of Mental Health;

Mark Smith, Deputy Executive Director, Mississippi Department of Human Services and Acting Deputy Director, Family and Children's Services;

Toni Kersh, Bureau Director, Office of Compulsory School Attendance Enforcement, Mississippi Department of Education;

James McCarone, Director, Division of Youth Services, Mississippi Department of Human Services;

Lori Smith, Office of the Governor of Mississippi;

Judge Michael McPhail, County Court and Youth Court Judge, Forrest County;

Judge Sharon Sigalas, County Court and Youth Court Judge, Jackson County;

Judge Vel Young, County Court and Youth Court Judge, Lauderdale County;

Judge Celeste Wilson, County Court and Youth Court Judge, DeSoto County;

Judge Vernita Johnson, County Court and Youth Court Judge, Washington County;

Chancellor Dawn Beam, Chancellor of the Tenth Chancery District of Mississippi;

Chancellor Jacqueline Mask, Chancellor of the First Chancery District of Mississippi;

Judge Conrad Mord, Youth Court Referee, Walthall County;

Judge Kevin Briscoe, Chief Justice, Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians;

Judge Holly Denson, Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians;

Ginger Mathis Miller, County Attorney, Tate County;

Karla Tye, Executive Director, Mississippi Children's Advocacy Centers;

Mike Duggar, Executive Director, Mississippi United Methodist Children's Homes;

John Damon, Director, Mississippi Children's Homes Society;

Angelique C. White, Guardian Ad Litem, Gulfport, Mississippi;

Dr. Susan Johnstone, Retired School Psychologist, Tupelo School System;

Tiffany Graves, Access to Justice Commission; and

Rebecca Mansell, Children's Safe Centers.

In undertaking its tasks, the Commission shall review such reports, studies, and materials as it deems appropriate, study legislation, analyze the use of court improvement funds, and submit recommendations to the En Banc Conference of the Mississippi Supreme Court for any necessary changes to improve the court systems for children.

Judge Virginia Carlton and Judge Thomas Broome are appointed Co-Chairs.

The term of service for each member of the Commission shall be for three years from the date of this order, unless terminated sooner by resignation or further order of this Court.

The Clerk of the Supreme Court shall spread this order upon the minutes of the Court and transmit to each appointee a true copy hereof.

SO ORDERED, this the 22nd day of September, 2015.

/s/ William L. Waller, Jr.

WILLIAM L. WALLER, JR. CHIEF JUSTICE