United States Court of Appeals FIFTH CIRCUIT OFFICE OF THE CLERK

LYLE W. CAYCE CLERK

TEL. 504-310-7700 600 S. MAESTRI PLACE NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130

July 22, 2010

MEMORANDUM TO COUNSEL OR PARTIES LISTED BELOW

Regarding: Fifth Circuit Statement on Petitions for Rehearing or Rehearing En Banc

No. 08-10146, Siesta Village Mkt, et al v. Perry, et al USDC No. 4:06-CV-232

Enclosed is a copy of the court's decision. The court has entered judgment under FED. R. App. P. 36. (However, the opinion may yet contain typographical or printing errors which are subject to correction.)

FED. R. APP. P. 39 through 41, and 5^{TH} CIR. Rules 35, 39, and 41 govern costs, rehearings, and mandates. 5TH CIR. Rules 35 and 40 require you to attach to your petition for panel rehearing or rehearing en banc an unmarked copy of the court's opinion or order. Please read carefully the Internal Operating Procedures (IOP's) following FED. R. APP. P. 40 and 5TH CIR. R. 35 for a discussion of when a rehearing may be appropriate, the legal standards applied and sanctions which may be imposed if you make a nonmeritorious petition for rehearing en banc.

<u>Direct Criminal Appeals</u>. 5^{TH} CIR. R. 41 provides that a motion for a stay of mandate under FED. R. APP. P. 41 will not be granted simply upon request. The petition must set forth good cause for a stay or clearly demonstrate that a substantial question will be presented to the Supreme Court. Otherwise, this court may deny the motion and issue the mandate immediately.

Pro Se Cases . If you were unsuccessful in the district court and/or on appeal, and are considering filing a petition for <u>certiorari</u> in the United States Supreme Court, you do not need to file a motion for stay of mandate under FED. R. APP. P. 41. The issuance of the mandate does not affect the time, or your right, to file with the Supreme Court.

The judgment entered provides that each party bear its own costs on appeal.

Sincerely,

LYLE W. CAYCE, Clerk

By: Jamei R. Cheramio James R. Cheramie, Deputy Clerk

Enclosures Ms. Marianne Marsh Auld Mr. James F. Basile Mr. Charles Justin Cooper Ms. Susan Elisabeth Engel Ms. Tracy K Genesen Mr. Mark Charles Harwell Mr. James C. Ho Mr. Dee J. Kelly Sr. Mr. David E. Keltner Mr. Anthony Stanley Kogut Mr. Philip Andrew Lionberger Ms. Elizabeth Marie Locke Mr. Carter Glasgow Phillips Ms. Soraya Prince Freed Rudofsky Mr. Marshall M Searcy Jr. Mr. Derek L Shaffer Mr. Kent Martin Shimeall Mr. Henry W Simon Jr. Mr. Kenneth Winston Starr Mr. Sterling W Steves Mr. James Carlton Todd Mr. William Nolan Warren Mr. David Bruce Young