USA v. David Zacarias Doc. 0 Att. 1

Case: 09-11229 Document: 00511250857 Page: 1 Date Filed: 10/01/2010

United States Court of Appeals OFFICE OF THE CLERK

LYLE W. CAYCE CLERK

TEL. 504-310-7700 600 S. MAESTRI PLACE NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130

October 01, 2010

MEMORANDUM TO COUNSEL OR PARTIES LISTED BELOW

Regarding: Fifth Circuit Statement on Petitions for Rehearing or Rehearing En Banc

No. 09-11229, USA v. David Zacarias USDC No. 4:07-CR-92-1

Enclosed is a copy of the court's decision. The court has entered judgment under FED. R. App. P. 36. (However, the opinion may yet contain typographical or printing errors which are subject to correction.)

FED. R. App. P. 39 through 41, and $5^{\text{\tiny TH}}$ CIR. Rules 35, 39, and 41 govern costs, rehearings, and mandates. 5^{TH} CIR. Rules 35 and 40 require you to attach to your petition for panel rehearing or rehearing en banc an unmarked copy of the court's opinion or order. Please read carefully the Internal Operating Procedures (IOP's) following FeD. R. App. P. 40 and 5^{TH} CIR. R. 35 for a discussion of when a rehearing may be appropriate, the legal standards applied and sanctions which may be imposed if you make a nonmeritorious petition for rehearing en banc.

 $\frac{\text{Direct Criminal Appeals}}{\text{for a stay of mandate under FeD. R. App. P. 41 will not be granted simply upon request. The petition must set forth good$ cause for a stay or clearly demonstrate that a substantial question will be presented to the Supreme Court. Otherwise, this court may deny the motion and issue the mandate immediately.

Pro Se Cases . If you were unsuccessful in the district court and/or on appeal, and are considering filing a petition for certiorari in the United States Supreme Court, you do not need to file a motion for stay of mandate under FED. R. App. P. 41. The issuance of the mandate does not affect the time, or your right, to file with the Supreme Court.

> Sincerely, LYLE W. CAYCE, Clerk

Rhonda M. Flowers, Deputy Clerk

Enclosures

Mr. Christopher Allen Curtis

Mr. Jason Douglas Hawkins

Ms. Nancy E. Larson

Mr. Shawn Lee Smith

Mr. David Zacarias