United States Court of Appeals FIFTH CIRCUIT OFFICE OF THE CLERK

LYLE W. CAYCE CLERK TEL. 504-310-7700 600 S. MAESTRI PLACE NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130

July 22, 2013

MEMORANDUM TO COUNSEL OR PARTIES LISTED BELOW

Regarding: Fifth Circuit Statement on Petitions for Rehearing or Rehearing En Banc

No. 10-10751, Villas at Parkside Partners, et al v. City of Farmers Branch Texas USDC No. 3:08-CV-1551 USDC No. 3:08-CV-1615

Enclosed is a copy of the court's decision. The court has entered judgment under FED. R. APP. P. 36. (However, the opinion may yet contain typographical or printing errors which are subject to correction.)

FED. R. APP. P. 39 through 41, and 5^{TH} CIR. RULES 35, 39, and 41 govern costs, rehearings, and mandates. 5^{TH} CIR. RULES 35 and 40 require you to attach to your petition for panel rehearing or rehearing en banc an unmarked copy of the court's opinion or order. Please read carefully the Internal Operating Procedures (IOP's) following FED. R. APP. P. 40 and 5^{TH} CIR. R. 35 for a discussion of when a rehearing may be appropriate, the legal standards applied and sanctions which may be imposed if you make a nonmeritorious petition for rehearing en banc.

<u>Direct Criminal Appeals.</u> 5^{TH} CIR. R. 41 provides that a motion for a stay of mandate under FED. R. APP. P. 41 will not be granted simply upon request. The petition must set forth good cause for a stay or clearly demonstrate that a substantial question will be presented to the Supreme Court. Otherwise, this court may deny the motion and issue the mandate immediately.

<u>Pro Se Cases.</u> If you were unsuccessful in the district court and/or on appeal, and are considering filing a petition for <u>certiorari</u> in the United States Supreme Court, you do not need to file a motion for stay of mandate under FED. R. APP. P. 41. The issuance of the mandate does not affect the time, or your right, to file with the Supreme Court.

The judgment entered provides that defendant-appellant pay to plaintiffs-appellees the costs on appeal.

Sincerely,

LYLE W. CAYCE, Clerk

By: ______ Debbie T. Graham, Deputy Clerk

Enclosure(s)

	Morris J. Baller Charles Dunham Biles
Mr.	William A. Brewer III
Mr.	R David Broiles
Mr.	Nicolas Chavez
Ms.	Rebecca McNeill Couto da Silva
Mr.	Omar C. Jadwat
Mr.	Lawrence John Joseph
Mr.	Peter Michael Jung
Dr.	Kris William Kobach
Ms.	Jennifer C. Newell
Ms.	Nina Perales
Mr.	James Stephen Renard
Ms.	Rebecca L. Robertson
Mr.	Jeffrey Eric Sandberg
Mr.	Benjamin M. Shultz
Mr.	Carlos Ramon Soltero
Mr.	Daniel Bentele Hahs Tenny
	Jack George Breffney Ternan