United States Court of Appeals

FIFTH CIRCUIT OFFICE OF THE CLERK

LYLE W. CAYCE CLERK

TEL. 504-310-7700 600 S. MAESTRI PLACE NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130

August 05, 2014

MEMORANDUM TO COUNSEL OR PARTIES LISTED BELOW

Regarding: Fifth Circuit Statement on Petitions for Rehearing or Rehearing En Banc

No. 14-40003 Marc Veasey, et al v. Rick Perry USDC No. 2:13-CV-193

USDC No. 2:13-CV-193 USDC No. 2:13-CV-263

Enclosed is a copy of the court's decision. The court has entered judgment under FED R. APP. P. 36. (However, the opinion may yet contain typographical or printing errors which are subject to correction.)

FED R. APP. P. 39 through 41, and 5TH Cir. R.s 35, 39, and 41 govern costs, rehearings, and mandates. 5TH Cir. R.s 35 and 40 require you to attach to your petition for panel rehearing or rehearing en banc an unmarked copy of the court's opinion or order. Please read carefully the Internal Operating Procedures (IOP's) following FED R. APP. P. 40 and 5^{TH} CIR. R. 35 for a discussion of when a rehearing may be appropriate, the legal standards applied and sanctions which may be imposed if you make a nonmeritorious petition for rehearing en banc.

Direct Criminal Appeals. 5^{TH} CIR. R. 41 provides that a motion for a stay of mandate under FED R. APP. P. 41 will not be granted simply upon request. The petition must set forth good cause for a stay or clearly demonstrate that a substantial question will be presented to the Supreme Court. Otherwise, this court may deny the motion and issue the mandate immediately.

Pro Se Cases. If you were unsuccessful in the district court and/or on appeal, and are considering filing a petition for certiorari in the United States Supreme Court, you do not need to file a motion for stay of mandate under FED R. App. P. 41. The issuance of the mandate does not affect the time, or your right, to file with the Supreme Court.

The judgment entered provides that appellant pay to appellees the costs on appeal.

Date Filed: 08/05/2014 Case: 14-40003 Document: 00512722686 Page: 2

Sincerely,

LYLE W. CAYCE, Clerk

Joseph M. Armato, Deputy Clerk

Enclosure(s)

Mr. Noel Terry Adams Jr. Ms. Leah Camille Aden

Ms. Anna Baldwin

Mr. Chad Wilson Dunn

Ms. Diana Katherine Flynn

Ms. Erin Helene Flynn

Mr. Ryan Paul Haygood Mr. J. Gerald Hebert Mr. Robert Acheson Koch

Ms. Natasha M. Korgaonkar
Ms. Kelly Hunsaker Leonard
Mr. Joseph M. Nixon
Mr. Rolando Leo Rios I
Mr. John Albert Smith III
Ms. Christina Swarns

Mr. James Edwin Trainor III