United States Court of Appeals

FIFTH CIRCUIT OFFICE OF THE CLERK

LYLE W. CAYCE CLERK

TEL. 504-310-7700 600 S. MAESTRI PLACE NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130

June 09, 2015

MEMORANDUM TO COUNSEL OR PARTIES LISTED BELOW

Regarding: Fifth Circuit Statement on Petitions for Rehearing or Rehearing En Banc

No. 14-50928 Whole Woman's Health, et al v. David Lakey, et al USDC No. 1:14-CV-284

Enclosed is a copy of the court's decision. The court has entered judgment under FED R. APP. P. 36. (However, the opinion may yet contain typographical or printing errors which are subject to correction.)

FED R. APP. P. 39 through 41, and 5^{TH} CIR. R.s 35, 39, and 41 govern costs, rehearings, and mandates. 5^{TH} CIR. R.s 35 and 40 require you to attach to your petition for panel rehearing or rehearing en banc an unmarked copy of the court's opinion or order. Please read carefully the Internal Operating Procedures (IOP's) following FED R. APP. P. 40 and 5^{TH} CIR. R. 35 for a discussion of when a rehearing may be appropriate, the legal standards applied and sanctions which may be imposed if you make a nonmeritorious petition for rehearing en banc.

Direct Criminal Appeals. 5^{TH} CIR. R. 41 provides that a motion for a stay of mandate under FED R. APP. P. 41 will not be granted simply upon request. The petition must set forth good cause for a stay or clearly demonstrate that a substantial question will be presented to the Supreme Court. Otherwise, this court may deny the motion and issue the mandate immediately.

Pro Se Cases. If you were unsuccessful in the district court and/or on appeal, and are considering filing a petition for certiorari in the United States Supreme Court, you do not need to file a motion for stay of mandate under FED R. App. P. 41. The issuance of the mandate does not affect the time, or your right, to file with the Supreme Court.

The judgment entered provides that plaintiffs-appellees-cross-appellants pay to defendants-appellants-cross-appellees the costs on appeal.

Case: 14-50928 Document: 00513071940 Page: 2 Date Filed: 06/09/2015

Sincerely,

LYLE W. CAYCE, Clerk

Deborah M. Graham

By:

Debbie T. Graham, Deputy Clerk

Enclosure(s)

Mr. Steven H. Aden Ms. Esha Bhandari

Mr. James Davis Blacklock Mr. David Patrick Brown Mr. Stephen Daniel Casey Ms. Natalie Lynn Decker Ms. Carrie Yvette Flaxman

Mrs. Catherine Glenn Foster

Ms. CeCe Heil

Mr. Lawrence John Joseph

Mr. Scott A. Keller

Ms. Beth Ellen Klusmann

Mr. Joseph Alexander Lawrence

Mr. Michael P. Murphy Mr. Michael J. Norton

Mr. Patrick J. O'Connell Mr. Andrew S. Oldham

Mr. Allan Edward Parker Jr.

Ms. Kimberly A. Parker
Mr. Stuart J. Roth
Mr. Jay A. Sekulow
Mrs. Catherine Wynne Short

Mrs. Mailee Rebecca Smith

Ms. Jan Soifer

Mr. Gregory R. Terra Ms. Stephanie Toti

Mr. Walter Martin Weber