UNITED STATES JUDICIAL PANEL on MULTIDISTRICT LITIGATION

CHAIRMAN: John G. Heyburn II United States District Court Western District of Kentucky MEMBERS: Robert L. Miller, Jr. United States District Court Northern District of Indiana

Kathryn H. Vratil United States District Court District of Kansas

David R. Hansen United States Court of Appeals Eighth Circuit W. Royal Furgeson, Jr. United States District Court Northern District of Texas

Frank C. Damrell, Jr. United States District Court Eastern District of California DIRECT REPLY TO:

Jeffery N. Lüthi Clerk of the Panel One Columbus Circle, NE Thurgood Marshall Federal Judiciary Building Room G-255, North Lobby Washington, D.C. 20002

Telephone: [202] 502-2800 Fax: [202] 502-2888 http://www.jpml.uscourts.gov

James G. Woodward, Clerk 3300 Thomas F. Eagleton U.S. Courthouse 111 South Tenth Street St. Louis, MO 63102-1116

Re: MDL No. 1811 -- IN RE: Genetically Modified Rice Litigation

(See Attached CTO-33)

September 17, 2009

Dear Mr. Woodward:

Attached as a PDF document is a certified copy of a conditional transfer order filed by the Panel in the above-captioned matter on <u>September 1, 2009</u>. As stipulated in Rule 7.4(a) of the <u>Rules of Procedure of the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation</u>, 199 F.R.D. 425, 435-36 (2001), transmittal of the order has been stayed 15 days to give any party an opportunity to oppose the transfer. The 15-day period has now elapsed, no opposition was received, and the order is directed to you for filing.

The Panel's governing statute, 28 U.S.C. §1407, requires that the transferee clerk "...transmit a certified copy of the Panel's order to transfer to the clerk of the district court from which the action is being transferred."

A list of involved counsel and judges are attached.

Very truly,

Jeffery N. Lüthi Clerk of the Panel

L. Stewart

Dana L. Stewart Deputy Clerk

Attachments (Conditional Transfer Order is a Separate Document)

cc: Transferee Judge: Judge Catherine D. Perry

JPML Form 36A

Dockets.Justia.com

INVOLVED COUNSEL LIST (CTO-33)

Charles A. Banks BANKS LAW FIRM PLLC P.O. Box 251310 Little Rock, AR 72225-1310

Joseph Henry Bates, III CARNEY WILLIAMS BATES BOZEMAN & PULLIAM PLLP 11311 Arcade Drive Suite 200 Little Rock, AR 72212

Andy D. Birchfield, Jr. BEASLEY ALLEN CROW METHVIN PORTIS & MILES PC P.O. Box 4160 Montgomery, AL 36103

John P. Byrd HARE WYNN NEWELL & NEWTON LLP Metropolitan National Plaza 4220 North Rodney Parham Road Suite 250 Little Rock, AR 72212

Russell Davy Carter, III CARTER WALLKER PLLC P.O. Box 628 Cabot, AR 72023

R. Margaret Dobson DOBSON LAW FIRM P.O. Box 459 Sheridan, AR 72150

Don M. Downing GRAY RITTER & GRAHAM PC 701 Market Street Suite 800 St. Louis, MO 63101-1826 Jerry Kelly KELLY LAW FIRM P.O. Box 500 Lonoke, AR 72086

Terry R. Lueckenhoff FOX GALVIN LLC One S. Memorial Drive 12th Floor St. Louis, MO 63102

Jim Lyons LYONS EMERSON & CONE PLC P.O. Box 7044 Jonesboro, AR 72403-7044

Donald P. McKenna, Jr. HARE WYNN NEWELL & NEWTON LLP 2025 Third Avenue, North Suite 800 Massey Building Birmingham, AL 35203

Martin J. Phipps GOLDMAN PENNEBAKER PHIPPS PC 100 NE Loop 410 Suite 1500 San Antonio, TX 78216

Andrew K. York LOOPER REED & MCGRAW PC 1601 Elm Street Suite 4100 Dallas, TX 75201