#### Opinion issued July 15, 2021



# In The

## Court of Appeals

For The

### First District of Texas

NO. 01-21-00308-CV

IN RE J-M MANUFACTURING COMPANY, INC., Relator

### Original Proceeding on Petition for Writ of Mandamus

#### **MEMORANDUM OPINION**

Relator, J-M Manufacturing Company, Inc. ("J-M"), filed a petition for writ of mandamus challenging the trial court's denial of its request that "all trial proceedings . . . be reported by a certified court reporter." J-M requested that this

Manufacturing Company, Inc., Individually and as Successor in Interest to J-M A/C Pipe Corporation, No. 2018-10109, in the 270th District Court of Harris County,

Texas, the Honorable Dedra Davis presiding.

The underlying case is Andrea Jean Thompson, Individually and as Executrix of the Estate of Tracy Dean Thompson, Deceased, and Mandy Thompson Zorn v. J-M

Court "command[] [the trial court] to order the . . . official court reporter to make a complete record of all proceedings."

J-M also filed a "Motion for Emergency Temporary Relief," requesting a stay of all trial court proceedings pending this Court's resolution of its petition for writ of mandamus. On June 11, 2021, we granted J-M's request for emergency relief, staying all proceedings in trial court case number 2018-10109.

J-M has filed a motion to dismiss its petition for writ of mandamus. In the motion, J-M represents that its request for relief in the mandamus petition "ha[s] been rendered moot" because trial court case number 2018-10109 has been transferred to the 55th District Court of Harris County, Texas and "a certified court reporter [will be] present for trial proceedings." J-M's motion includes a certificate of conference representing that no party opposes the relief requested in J-M's motion to dismiss its mandamus petition. *See* Tex. R. App. P. 10.3(a)(2).

Accordingly, we grant J-M's motion, dismiss the petition for writ of mandamus, and lift the stay imposed by our June 11, 2021 order. We dismiss all pending motions as moot.

#### **PER CURIAM**

Panel consists of Justices Kelly, Guerra, and Farris.